Candlelight Contemplation

A few nights ago my neighbourhood experienced a power outage for a few hours, and I wonder if anyone else took advantage of the rare blessing it brought.  In an instant our world went silent, and dark.  There was no listening to music on the radio, no surfing the internet, and those who own televisions lost several hours of “high-quality entertainment”.  In those moments, we were offered the rare opportunity to get a taste of a simpler life, and to get reacquainted with books, blankets and candles.

Before heading to bed, I stopped at our family altar, where the vigil candle had become the only source of light in the room.  I was reminded of the threefold significance of that candle to me, and I would love to share them with you.  Firstly, the candle reminds me that the true Light of the world has come in the person of Jesus Christ.  Secondly, I am reminded that wherever there is light, the darkness is being expelled.  Finally, I am humbled by the fact that the same Light that created the universe and holds all things together, is the spark of the image of GOD in you and in me.

In my family, we take time to remember these three things every time we join together in lighting the Christ candle at vespers.  As my wife lights the candle, we sing these words from the Book of Common Prayer for Ordinary Radicals:

“Walk in the light, the beautiful light,
Come where the dew drops of mercy shine bright,
Shine all around us by day and by night
Jesus, the Light of the world!”

About barefootpastor

associate minister at Trinity Aurora | progressive Christian | family man | contemplative Anglican | vegetarian | enneagram 3w4 | #queertheology

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Contemplation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment